RSS Feed

Okra

image

Red Okra Flower

Okra flowers are stunningly beautiful. Okra- generally, you either love it or hate it. Call me Switzerland because while I have not found very many recipes where okra is the star and not a supporting ingredient, I remain hopeful. I planted six red and six green okra plants with the intention of preparing pickled okra. I am planning to pressure can several jars with different brines and see how I liked it.

How do you feel about okra? Do you love it, hate it, or are you searching for okra greatness like me? When you comment, suggesting fried okra does not count because almost anything is delicious fried. What say you?

5 responses »

  1. I loved the first time I tried okra, especially its inner gooish texture. Maybe not many people like it because of this? I have an asian background so anything that is playful in texture is great.

    My okras were simply boiled and dipped into a sauce composed of soysauce, sugar, vinager, pinch of pepper. Actually, I eat many veggies this way because I like tasting their flavor with and without condiments. For me it is always better tasting original flavors.

    I have tried them stir fried with many other ingredients and they always lose their taste and texture.

    Reply
    • For me, when I first tried okra, the texture was close to eggplant, but I could not figure out if I liked it or not since the flavor of the gumbo was so pronounced. Once I figure out my brine mixtures and the flavor profiles then I’d like to report back on the taste and crunch of pickled okra. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
  2. Honestly haven’t tried okra before but a pickled okra seems like it’d be a great place to start or try for the first time. I had no idea they made such intricate flowers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Cornucopia Food Forest Gardens

growing an ecosystem of abundance

Got Meat.

Hello, is it meat you're looking for?

Bread, Cakes And Ale

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Vegetarian In Vegas

A new life one bite at a time.

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

My French Heaven

FOOD, PHOTOGRAPHY & JOIE DE VIVRE IN BORDEAUX, FRANCE

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

The Happy Food Dance

An exploration and celebration of deliciousness.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

