RSS Feed

Honey Bee Swarm Capture

In my last post, I wrote about it being the time of year when honeybees swarm. I thought I would add a subject source to my blog posts and that is documenting the work I do in rescuing, capturing, and saving honeybees. Once in a while, you may read about a honey bee swarm that lands somewhere that is not exactly welcome; for example, in someone’s roof eve, hanging off a deck rail, or up in a tree nearby a lot of heavy foot traffic.

I got a call from a concerned customer at the Korean Palace restaurant in San Jose, CA who detailed the plight of a particular swarm of honey bees about twelve feet off the ground that definitely needed rescuing. After securing the restaurant owner’s permission, I packed up my swarm capturing tools and headed on down to the Korean Palace. When I arrived, I met with both the owner and the concerned diner who showed me the location of the swarm. After surveying the situation, I set up my twelve foot ladder and went to work. It took about an hour to capture this hive and attract all the worker bees to the queen bee. I really appreciate the kind telephone call and the cooperation of the restaurant’s owner for helping save the honeybees. I relocated the honeybees to a new home in Almaden Valley where they are thriving, pollinating, and helping maintain a healthy eco-system.

Bee_Swarm_KoreaPalace_4-13-14

2 responses »

  1. Do you think their honey will taste like Kimchi?
    How are your bees doing, Donald?
    Would you have any time to talk about bees this weekend?

    Reply
  2. Martin-Fontana Parks Association

    Thanks for taking the time to do that. We need more folks like you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Cornucopia Food Forest Gardens

growing an ecosystem of abundance

Got Meat.

Hello, is it meat you're looking for?

Bread, Cakes And Ale

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Vegetarian In Vegas

A new life one bite at a time.

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

My French Heaven

ALL ABOUT FOOD, FRANCE AND JOIE DE VIVRE

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

The Happy Food Dance

An exploration and celebration of food

Putting Down Roots

Following our hearts back to the land

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

