RSS Feed

On Free Publicity

George Carlin said, “The caterpillar does all the work, but the butterfly gets all the credit.”

When I (Farmer Donald) was approached by a show organizer on doing a photo shoot and short story about Yummy Tummy Farms, I jumped at the chance. What young business would turn down free publicity?

After working out some details, a professional photographer, make-up artist, model coach, and model all showed up at Yummy Tummy Farms ready to work. At the time, I was basically along for the ride since I have no experience working with publicity professionals, so my job was to learn as much as possible. It was a great experience and the only thing that was not done is that the name and logo were not more prominently featured; furthermore, it’s a small desire that I am okay with missing for my first photo shoot.

While I think the photo is extremely flattering, it forces me to think about how my logo and farm should be branded now and in the future? Clearly, this  photo is for an adult-oriented audience and calls to memory pin-up girls from a by-gone, but not forgotten, era. Do I want to market to adults only? Clearly adults are the people making purchases, but it also one of my goals to have to teach children gardening, farming, and where food comes from and this pin-up image fails to meet this objective. How should I resolve these seemingly opposite goals?

The way, at first, I am resolving the conundrum is to use this free publicity for my dot com and dot net web addresses. In the future, I will create a different website with a completely different look, totally appropriate for children, and utilize a dot org domain. This approach may succeed, but it too may also fail on occasion. When you are an entrepreneur, there is always risk; however, without risk, I believe, there is no reward. How should I resolve these seemingly opposite goals?

Yummy Tummy Farms: Rock-n-Roll Style

Leave a Reply

Cornucopia Food Forest Gardens

growing an ecosystem of abundance

Got Meat.

Hello, is it meat you're looking for?

Bread, Cakes And Ale

A celebration of bread, cakes, beer, and grain-based foods.

Vegetarian In Vegas

A new life one bite at a time.

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

The Happy Food Dance

food - photography - travel

On the Care and Feeding of Geeks

...for man does not live by bread alone...

