RSS Feed

There Goes The Neighborhood Part 3

As you might remember from my post “There Goes The Neighborhood Part 2” my neighbor, Farmer C, woke me up on a Saturday morning with a loud rototiller grinding up the dirt in his front yard. Later that same day, as I was outside working my farm, I saw Farmer drive by with his pickup truck full of some sort of black gold, farmer’s fecundity; otherwise known as super-nutrient rich compost. When Farmer C parked, I asked him what he was doing with all the rototilling and compost in the back of his truck? Farmer C looked at me and said, “I am planting my corn field.” To which I reflexively, before I could control myself, retorted with a dismissive wave of my hand, “you are not planting a cornfield.” I then asked him where was the rolls of sod lawn he had bought? Farmer C looked at me in disbelief, concluding that I was not going to believe his cornfield contention until I saw corn seeds germinating and sprouting.

About two weeks later (May 19th-20th), I awoke and did the conga-line dance down the driveway to get the newspaper. I glanced over the fence to see what kind of progress Farmer C had made on his lawn, but instead, and to my pleasant surprise, this is what I saw.

Sweet Suburban Corn Field June 19-20 2012

If I am the torch-bearer for suburban farming in Santa Clara County, specifically in San Jose, CA, then Farmer C must be the standards bearer for what is possible with effort, sheer determination, and willpower; moreover, I am taking notes and learning a lot. The myriad of possibilities under my suburban farming model has the power to be revolutionary in it’s healthy implications.  Watching the potential volume of fresh coming from Farmer C’s efforts means that the Yummy Tummy Farms core value of spreading suburban farming is being upheld and modeled.
Healthy organically grown at scale in a network of linked suburban neighbors has the power to be revolutionary in it’s healthy implications.

Leave a Reply

Cornucopia Food Forest Gardens

growing an ecosystem of abundance

Got Meat.

Hello, is it meat you're looking for?

Bread, Cakes And Ale

A celebration of bread, cakes, beer, and grain-based foods.

Vegetarian In Vegas

A new life one bite at a time.

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

The Happy Food Dance

food - photography - travel

Putting Down Roots

Following our hearts back to the land

